NHS Health Education East Midlands

NHS Health Education East Midlands
 

Home  »  The Deanery - About us  »  About us

About us

From 1 April 2013, the East Midlands Education Healthcare Workforce Deanery formed part of Health Education East Midlands (HEEM). Most of the functions of the former Deanery will remain, and so despite the transition there should be little difference in the service provided. This website provides information about the Postgraduate Medical Education function. 

HEEM is the vehicle for providers and professionals, working as part of NHS Health Education England (HEE) to improve the quality of education and training outcomes so that they meet the needs of service providers, patients and the public. Through HEE, health and public health providers will have strong input into the development of national strategies and priorities so education and training can adapt quickly to new ways of working and new models of service.

For more information about HEEM, please visit our page on the HEE website here.

We will be transferring all the information on this website to our pages on the HEE website in the near future. Until then, information will remain available for you on this website.

Medical education and training in the East Midlands is very much a partnership. The teams oversee the quality, distribution and management of postgraduate medical education for general practice, secondary care and public health, and we work closely with both those who deliver, and those who undertake the training and education.We consider that by providing high quality training opportunities we will attract the best doctors to train in the East Midlands, and are confident that most of those who do so will wish to remain once their training is complete.

The  team is based in Ruddington, Nottinghamshire. However the area in which our educators work is geographically large and serves a population of 4.3 million, and a healthcare workforce in excess of 80,000. This provides a breadth of learning and working environments including some of the largest teaching hospitals nationally and some of the smallest rural areas. 

The Postgraduate Medical Education function is led by Dr Sheona MacLeod as Director of Education Quality, Postgraduate Dean.

Sheona MacLeod
Director of Education Quality,
Postgraduate Dean
sheona.macleod@nhs.net

 

Sue Ackermann
Head of Integrated Services
s.ackermann@nhs.net

Gordon French 
Innovation Adviser
gordon.french@nhs.net 

Jill Guild
Head of Quality and Performance
jill.guild@nhs.net


Adrian Brooke 
Secondary Care Dean
adrianbrooke@nhs.net 

Emma Heyhoe
HR Manager
emma.heyhoe@nhs.net

Helen Mead
GP Postgraduate Dean
helenmead@nhs.net

 

Nathan Jones
Assessments Manager
nathan.jones@nottingham.ac.uk 

Bridget Langham
Director of Foundation Training
bridget.langham@nhs.net

 

Gerard O'Reilly
Deputy Head of Educator and School Development
gerard.oreilly@nhs.net

Andrew Dickenson
Postgraduate Dental Dean
andrewdickenson@nhs.net

   

Marcia Reid 
Recruitment & Programmes Manager
marcia.reid@nhs.net 

James McLean 
Deputy Director of Education Quality and Environment
james.mclean4@nhs.net

 

 

Associate Postgraduate Deans

Caroline Ahrens
caroline.ahrens1@nhs.net

Diana Jolliffe
diana.jolliffe@nhs.net 

David Poll
davidpoll@nhs.net

Ann Boyle
annboyle1@nhs.net

Jo Jones
jo.jones7@nhs.net

Roger Price
rprice@nhs.net

Prit Chahal
prit.chahal@ntlworld.com

Roger Kunkler
roger.kunkler@nhs.net

Nigel Scarborough
nigelscarborough@nhs.net

Charlie Cooper
charliecooper1@nhs.net

Sarah Layzell 
sarahlayzell@nhs.net

Nick Spittle
nick.spittle@chesterfieldroyal.nhs.uk

Sue Cullis
scullis@nhs.net 

Sathya Naidoo
naidoo@innotts.co.uk

Ganesh Subramanian
ganesh.subramanian@nuh.nhs.uk

Mike Davies
michael.davies1@nhs.net

Chic Pillai
chic.pillai@nhs.net

Sandy Taylor
sandy.taylor1@doctors.org.uk

Tara George
tara.george@nhs.net